Dr. S NYC sketches and WACOM experiments

DRSNYCGIRLFISHWent to Dr. Sketchy’s NYC last week and did a couple doodles in between talking to various folks.  The above actually had some color in it, unfortunately I somehow scanned it in black and white and I’m too lazy to scan it again.  (The marker was actually a flesh tone, not gray.)

The next fellow was someone sitting near me . . .

 

guyatdrs

Halfway through the drawing I accidentally kicked over my beer (it was my first and had only had 3 sips taken from it) which immediately made a bee-line for some poor girl’s purse.  I *think* grabbed her purse in time, but then got a dirty look for having grabbed her purse.  Everyone in fact started giving me dirty looks since they thought I was drunk, so I got up and moved (I needed a new beer anyway and apparently more elbow room).

The next marker sketch was a girl drawing near my new spot, which was too far from the stage for me to effectively draw anything there anyway.  It was completed it in about 3 minutes, which was probably a good thing since a fellow with an Italian NYC accent had attached himself to Alexis and her sister.  He seemed nice at first, at least until I walked up and in an attempt to prove “he wasn’t up to no good” started buying he and I shots.

DRSNYCGIRLDRAWING

Turns out the fellow had never been to a Dr. Sketchy’s before and had been sent (with money) by his wife to “get out of the house for once and try to socialize.”   Unfortunately he had either been drinking earlier or had no tolerance (surprising for his size).  He quickly became toasted, somewhat aggressive, and stopped making sense.  I kept attempting to step away to talk to either John Leavitt or Molly Crabapple (the folks who run Dr. S) to sign a copy of their new graphic novel so we could give it away as a prize at our next Dr.  S – Baltimore, and he would flip out, grabbing my arm and refusing to let me leave.  Eventually we had to leave to find dinner before the burlesque show later that night.  When we got back he had either been picked up, poured into a cab, or arrested.

(We spent the rest of the night drinking with one of our former models, Sugar Ann Spice, and a bunch of New Zealanders who had to be some of the funniest guys I’ve met in years.)

Next up, if you remember (I wouldn’t), I won a WACOM tablet a month ago at San Diego’s Comic-Con.  Upon getting the thing home through a gauntlet of airport security procedures, I tried it out with my 75 yr old Dell laptop.  Here are the two doodle pages generated in Photoshop while attempting to learn how to use it.

wacom1

wacom2Yikes.  In any case, it didn’t matter since the laptop was unable to handle the tablet (it also can’t handle Firefox, virus scanning software, booting up, or not making strange smells when guests are over).

A few weeks later we got a Macbook Pro, Painter, and the entire creative suite Adobe puts out.

I now understand why blog after blog is devoted to discussing brushes.  Anyway, here are the three doodle pages so far.  I’m not attempting to learn anything new (yet), I’m just attempting to learn how to do what I already know how to do with a tablet instead of a pencil. 

experiment1webphotoshop

experiment2webphotoshop

experiment0photoshop

experiment3webphotoshop

 

1 Comment

Filed under 1, art, art tools, doodle, Dr. Sketchy's, dr. sketchy's anti-art school, draw, Drawing, life drawing, marker, pen, pencil, San Diego Comic-Con, sdcc, sketch, WACOM

One response to “Dr. S NYC sketches and WACOM experiments

  1. cartoonistnalini

    Hi I m not expert in sketching but I can analyze little bit bcoz i m in this field.
    Can you do me a favor. If you have some time then please visit my blog give ur feedback on my sketches, cartoon character. Therefore I can improve my drawing much better.
    Nalini
    http://cartoonistnalini.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

