Sketch-dump, Comic-Con, WACOM, And-don’t-be-number-11

p_1600_1200_6AA2DCB9-4732-421E-A368-A29AF1518339.jpeg

Went to San Diego Comic-Con this past week and had a blast.  Thursday night, after a first day of pushing and shoving our way through hordes screaming Twilight fans, fat people who had doubled their size with fat backpacks adorned with sharp swords and flags designed to skewer an eye, furries (apparently Johnny Depp was sneaking around in a squirrel suit), stormtroopers, and anime kids toting cardboard signs saying “FREE HUGS!”, we checked out a session of Drink and Draw at Hennessy’s Tavern in the Gas Lamp district.

A lot of folks showed up, leading to some confusion, but it eventually worked out — ended up sitting with Lily of Dr. Sketchy’s San Diego and having a beer or two with the guy who designed Bumblebee for the Transformers movie.

Here’s the couple of sketches I did of the model inbetween beers.  I didn’t really feel like drawing (I felt more like gabbing and drinking), so they’re crap, but here they are anyway…

img107

img108

img109

Checked out a drawing panel on Friday Saturday?) that had Terry Moore, Camilla D’Errico, and David Mack demonstrating their approaches to life drawing while Amanda Palmer posed for them.  We bumped into Molly Crabapple, who did some amazing drawings (maybe she’ll put them up on a blog or something at some point) . . . I only did one sketch, simply because I’d never seen anyone pose with their mouth open before.

img111This was done in the hallway beforehand while waiting in line for the panel.  (Picture a campground of people in Predator suits, people with 3 bookbags apiece, forests of poster tubes, and, well, cranky people.  When Molly tried to wave to us, some girl called her a whore and barked at her to keep moving.)

img110

Attended Dr. Sketchy’s San Diego Saturday night, with Molly presenting and the lovely Lady Borgia posing as Scarlett O’Herring from Molly and John Leavitt’s Scarlett Takes Manhattan.

REALLY drew some crap this time.

img112

img113img114

Last day of the Con, while everyone else finished up they’re shopping, I decided, while bored, to wander past the WACOM booth, which was supposed to have a drawing on the last day for a free WACOM tablet.  Figured they might have the winner, if they had done the drawing yet, posted up on a sign or something.

No luck.  So I kept walking, but stopped when I heard my name used in conversation.

“Umm, excuse me, what did you just say?”

“What?”

“Who are you looking for?”

“Aaron Bush.”

“Umm, I’m Aaron Bush.”

“What??”

“No, really, I am, look at my badge.”

I won the tablet.

l_604_453_1360837E-0993-4FCE-9669-484A99A488C9.jpeg

The odds were so astronomically high that I would walk by at the exact moment they said my name that I think I freaked them out a little bit. 🙂

Instead of going through all the trouble of mailing it later and all that, a nice fellow named Steve Smith decided to give it to me right then . . . I played with it a bit when I got back to Baltimore, then spent last night cleaning off the drawing desk so I could give it a serious go this weekend.  Hopefully I’ll have some interesting stuff to post in a few days.

Anyways…drew this on the plane.  It was going to be a Chinese dragon, but the pencil was so dull I gave up (I couldn’t find the sharpener for the life of me).

img115

And last, this was doodled in a section meeting at work . . . the guy on the right was showing off safety equipment and telling us not to be the company’s 11th fatality.

 

img116

2 Comments

Filed under 1, art, art tools, burlesque, cabaret, doodle, Dr. Sketchy's, dr. sketchy's anti-art school, draw, Drawing, ink, life drawing, molly crabapple, pen, pencil, San Diego Comic-Con, sdcc, sketch

2 responses to “Sketch-dump, Comic-Con, WACOM, And-don’t-be-number-11

  1. I’m not going to lie, the picture of the creature wandering around comic-con makes me smile every time I see it.

  2. im often bumping across the net just about all of the time as a result I usually tend to peruse quite a lot, which isn’t normally a beneficial matter as a large amount of the web sites I see are made up of unproductive nonsense copied from similar internet sites a million times, nevertheless I have to compliment you because this webpage is really enjoyable and also holds a bit of authentic substance, so many thanks for breaking up the trend of basically duplicating other folks’ websites, if you ever wanna have fun with playing a couple of hands of zynga poker together with me just email me – you have my e mail 🙂

Leave a Reply

