…and we’re on. A post about movie theaters, books, and studios.

Well, my plan for lining up a bunch of posts to “auto-post” while I was busy doing holiday things didn’t work out. Basically, Christmas, a two day birthday party, a trip to DC, and a trip to Asheville pretty much threw a monkey wrench into my one a day schedule.

Well, the last gifts have been given, the tabs paid, and the trains deboarded, so it’s back to work. I haven’t been completely nonproductive though….there’s a couple new sketches, a couple new unearthed sketches, and the studio has about one hour of “set-up” left to go before I can start oil painting in it.

Anyway, that’s what I’m going to go do now since it’s only 3:30 in the afternoon and it’s a beautiful day to prop open the windows and paint.

Here’s a sketch to start off with though…..it’s a caricature of an employee I used to know at Plaza Theaters, which is by the way the theater that inspired some of the scenes in Melissa Walker’s Violet on the Runway. I’ll put up more sketches of theater employees as I find them (sadly, I’m pretty sure there were none of Melissa).

There’s a screenplay involving the same theater out there somewhere as well…if I can find some links involving it, I’ll throw some in later.

caraciture of a Plaza employee

Oh, and the mayonnaise is an old theater joke, one I should remove, but what the hell. *I’m* not the one that kept a drawer in the box filled with mayonnaise soiled napkins and 40 half used mayonnaise packets.

That said, wherever she is, I hope she’s doing well.

Last, over the next 48 hours I intend to add a “random thoughts” blog as well to this site, which will include random links to things I find interesting, or, well, posts on things that really don’t belong here. (Including two promo pages, one for the book I’m trying to sell and one for the second one I started working on last month.)

Leave a comment

Filed under art, chapel hill, doodle, draw, Drawing, Melissa Walker, pencil, Plaza Theaters, sketch, sketch a day

Leave a Reply

