Oil painting of an old man.

I’m cleaning the house today and unfortunately don’t have anything new to put up.  The below is an oil painting I did in my second (third?) year of oil painting underneath Professor Zaborowski at UNC, about a decade ago.  It’s a pencil sketch on canvas paper with a layer of oils carefully applied over top.  It was probably the best one of it’s type I did that year.

I *think* it was based off a sketch done in a coffee shop named Cafe Trios in Chapel Hill, one that has long since turned into an Italian eatery, then a gin bar, and maybe a sports bar now?  I have no idea.

old man painted in oils

Leave a comment

Filed under art, Cafe Trios, draw, Drawing, oil painting, oils, pencil, sketch, sketch a day

Leave a Reply

